A SPEECH GIVEN BY SHAH RUKH KHAN IN THE MOVIE “BILLU BARBER”

I’ve been told to give some direction to the children here.

Direction?  It is a big word.

Forgive me, madam principal. I can’t. It’s too hard.

But I’d like to say one thing to my little friends.

Children, the days of childhood are the most beautiful and best days of your life.

Chunni, sitting over there would say that she has broken her tooth and it’s paining.

Or Bunty over here would say that his teacher had given him a sound beating.

Some kids are afraid of exams.

Those days are beautiful.

The most beautiful days

Yes, children. I want to assure you these are the most beautiful days.

Because Bunty, when you grow up and you have a beard like this gentleman (pointing at a man close by)

And Chunni, when you become a pilot and you are worried about flying a plane.

Then you would yearn for these days. But you will never get back these days and these moments.

Today, you’re heart is pure.

It is pure.

Shining gold!

The relationships you form now.

The friends you make you’ll never ever make such friends and relationships ever in life. Looking at you, reminded me of my childhood. You have good clothes, good books to read and good food.

Maybe you won’t believe me but in my childhood I had none of these things.

My childhood was very ordinary and simple. I was not the film star Sahir, but just Sahir.

My father was very poor

We had nothing

 

But in everyone’s childhood there is someone who makes a definite impression on us.

He becomes a partner in our mischief and shares our troubles.

He’s our friend and companion.

I had a companion who was just like that.

My support

The blessing of my God

Billu, my friend

I still remember, during our lunch-break children used to eat from their lunch-boxes.

I just used to drink water

It was Billu who used to pat my back and give me his lunch

My hair was as long as a girls’.

But I didn’t have money to cut them.

It was Billu who cut my hair when his father was not in his shop.

Billu…. My friend

When I used to be sad thinking about my mother he used to steal money from his father and take me to watch movies

He was Billu

My friend

While returning home, he used to get me to mimic characters from movies by promising to buy roasted

Groundnuts for me

Those evening and those lanes Billu had brought out the actor in me

I didn’t have as much faith in myself as Billu had in me.

One day he sold his gold earring and bought me a ticket to Mumbai.

He kept the rest of his money in my shirt-pocket.

I held his hand and told him that

I would return the money.

He told be that I didn’t have to return it.

I should help the needy with it and remember him when I did.

 

That’s enough.

Then I came to fast-paced Mumbai.

I became Sahir, the film star in no time.

I went back to my village to find him, but I couldn’t find him.

Someone told me that he had fallen in love with a girl who didn’t belong to his caste.

The villagers were against them so they ran away in fear of their lives.

They left the village.

I would like to tell you the truth.

I have everything name, fame, all because of him.

Wherever I go, millions of people flock. They call out my name.

The air is filled with cries of my name. But even today amongst those millions of voices I search for only one voice

The voice of my friend, Billu

READ ALSO: REMEMBERING ZAHRA’U

 

